DSQ logo

Your rights

Right to opt out

The Québec Health Record (QHR) is very useful in helping health professionals give you the right medical aid, especially in emergency situations. You are nonetheless free to participate or not.

Should you choose to opt out from the QHR, you must contact us by using one of the following methods. Have your health insurance card in hand.

Should you choose to opt out by telephone or internet, you will immediately receive a confirmation. Should you choose to opt out by mail, a confirmation will be mailed to your last address known by the government health insurance system (RAMQ).

Your personal health information will not be accessible after you have chosen to opt out. If an authorized individual tries to access your information, the system will simply indicate that you have declined to participate and none of your personal health information will be revealed.

If you choose to opt out, you can decide when to end your opting out period. If you provide an end date, all of the information gathered before this date will be kept secret. The authorized professionals will only be able to consult information gathered after the end of your opting out period.

If you do not supply an end date, your opting out will be permanently recorded, unless you decide to cancel it or supply an end date.

Important

Your refusal to participate will prevent the communication of personal information. However, personal information will be collected and stored by the QHR in highly secured data banks even after opting out. Certain pieces of information could be used for analysis and research. In this case, it would not be possible to link the information used to a particular individual.

Minors and incapacitated adults

Only a parent, a legal guardian or another parental authority can opt out on behalf of a child who is under 14 years of age.

Only a legal representative (guardian or authorized representative) can opt out on behalf of an incapacitated adult.

DSQ logo

Vos droits

Droit de refus

Le Dossier Santé Québec (DSQ) est très utile pour les professionnels responsables de vous prodiguer les soins dont vous avez besoin, surtout en situation d’urgence. Vous êtes néanmoins libre d’y participer ou non.

Si vous ne souhaitez pas participer au DSQ, vous devez exprimer votre refus en utilisant l’une des méthodes suivantes. Assurez-vous d’avoir votre carte d’assurance maladie en main.

Vous recevrez aussitôt une confirmation si vous exprimez votre refus par Internet ou par téléphone. Si vous manifestez votre refus par la poste, une confirmation écrite vous sera envoyée à votre dernière adresse connue à la Régie d’assurance maladie du Québec (RAMQ).

Votre refus aura pour effet de rendre inaccessibles les renseignements de santé vous concernant. Si une personne autorisée tentait de consulter ces renseignements, le système indiquerait simplement que vous avez refusé de participer. Aucun renseignement vous concernant ne serait alors communiqué.

Si vous manifestez votre refus, vous aurez la possibilité d’indiquer à quel moment vous souhaitez que la période de refus se termine. Si vous indiquez une date de fin, les renseignements collectés avant cette date ne pourront pas être communiqués. La personne autorisée ne pourra consulter que les renseignements qui auront été collectés après cette date de fin.

Si vous n’indiquez pas de date de fin, votre refus restera enregistré en permanence.

À noter

Même si vous exprimez votre refus, des renseignements de santé vous concernant seront collectés par le DSQ et conservés dans des banques de données hautement sécurisées. Ces renseignements pourront servir à des fins d’analyse et de recherche sans qu’il soit possible de les relier à vous ou à une autre personne en particulier.

Le refus des mineurs et des majeurs inaptes

Dans le cas d’un enfant de moins de 14 ans, c'est l'un de ses parents (ou son tuteur légal ou tout autre détenteur de l'autorité parentale) qui devra exprimer le refus, si souhaité.
Dans le cas d'une personne majeure inapte sous protection juridique, c'est son représentant légal (curateur ou mandataire) qui devra faire la demande, si désiré.